After a profound silence, this is our opportunity as artists to UNMUTE and share something truly wonderful with you.

To express our deep gratitude for the generous support shown by so many of our members and friends during the 2020 Coronavirus pandemic and lockdown, we performed a very special live concert at Wormsley, behind closed doors, but brought to you on our YouTube channel as our gift to you.

UNMUTE: A Musical Reunion
Sunday 5 July, 6pm
Free to view - donations gratefully received

Together with members of the Philharmonia Orchestra, Dougie Boyd conducts a programme of Mozart, Tchaikovsky, Beethoven and Strauss with six soloists and readings by Samuel West.

The concert's theme is 'Reunion': after such a long separation from fellow artists and our audience, this was a joyful opportunity to reunite and enjoy live music from Garsington Opera once more.

The concert is free to watch via this webpage and our YouTube channel, with no registration required.


Riconosci in questo amplesso

Marcellina – Nardus Williams
Figaro – Joshua Bloom
Bartolo – Brindley Sherratt
Curzio – Sam Furness
Count – Roderick Williams
Susanna – Soraya Mafi

Figaro is unexpectedly reunited with his long-lost parents.


Countess – Nardus Williams
Susanna – Soraya Mafi

The Countess and Susanna pen a letter of invitation to the Count for a nocturnal union.

Pace pace mio dolce tesoro

Susanna – Soraya Mafi
Figaro – Joshua Bloom
Count – Roderick Williams

Figaro has finally realised his bride is dressed as the Countess and plays along with the joke by propositioning her. In response, Susanna slaps him and the two lovers reunite and resolve to finish the comedy together.

Deh vieni

Susanna – Soraya Mafi

Susanna enjoys the quiet surrounding of the garden and looks forward to her wedding night reunion with Figaro.


FIDELIO – Beethoven

Mir ist so wunderbar

Marzelline – Soraya Mafi
Leonore – Nardus Williams
Rocco – Joshua Bloom
Jaquino – Sam Furness

Leonore yearns to be together with her love Florestan, but in the meantime her male disguise has led Marzelline for fall for her. Marzelline, her father Rocco, and Jaquino sing hopefully of their union, but Leonore longs for another reunion.


EUGENE ONEGIN – Tchaikovsky

Kogda by zhizn'

Onegin – Roderick Williams

Having admired him from a distance and plucked up the courage to write a letter expressing her love for Onegin, Tatyana awaits his arrival and the hope of his affections. He arrives, but their reunion is not what she expects.

Kuda, Kuda

Lensky – Sam Furness

Awaiting the duel with Onegin, Lensky reflects on his love of Olga and impending reunion with his friend turned rival.

Lyubvi vse vozrasty

Gremin – Brindley Sherratt

In an unexpected reunion, Onegin meets an older Tatyana now married to Prince Gremin who sings of his great happiness and love of his wife.



String Sextet

Players from the Philharmonia Orchestra

Countess Madeleine’s two lovers, a poet and a composer, debate the power of words and music. A string sextet perform Flamand’s latest composition.


Sunday 5 July
Start time: 


Soraya Mafi, soprano
Nardus Williams, soprano
Sam Furness, tenor
Roderick Williams, baritone
Joshua Bloom, bass
Brindley Sherratt, bass
Samuel West, actor

Douglas Boyd, conductor
Members of the Philharmonia Orchestra