The full performance of Orfeo is free to watch on demand on OperaVision from Friday 21 October 2022 until Thursday 20 April 2023 below.

Performances
1, 3, 9, 11, 15, 23, 25 June 2022
3 July 2022
Start time: 6.35pm
End time: c.10.05pm - 10.15pm

Orpheus sings his way to the underworld in pursuit of his wife Euridice, overcoming all obstacles by the power of his voice. He finds her but loses her again. Orfeo encapsulates the human condition through Monteverdi’s genius.

This enthralling music gives words their expression, allowing them to take flight, all the while celebrating the unique talents of each performer. Director, John Caird, makes his Garsington Opera debut, with Ed Lyon (The Turn of the Screw, 2019) in the title role, and Laurence Cummings returns to conduct.

Sung in Italian with English supertitles

For Orfeo performances we invite the audience to wear white or cream to reflect the production design.

Orfeo
Ed Lyon
Messenger
Diana Montague
Music / La Musica
Claire Lees
Hope / La Speranza
Laura Fleur
Euridice
Zoe Drummond
Charon
Frazer Scott
Pluto
Ossian Huskinson
Persephone
Lauren Joyanne Morris
Nymph
Anna Cavaliero
Solo Shepherds and Spirits
Georgia Mae Bishop
Florian Panzieri
David Horton
Richard Pinkstone
Dafydd Jones
Philippe Durrant
Michael Bell
Joe Chalmers
Spirits of the Dance
Amber Doyle
Maddy Brennan
Benjamin Derham
Annie Joy Edwards
Cameron Everitt
Emily Gunn
Conductor
Laurence Cummings
Director
John Caird
Choreographer
Arielle Smith
Designer
Robert Jones
Lighting Designer
Paul Pyant
The English Concert
Garsington Opera Chorus
June 2022
Wednesday 1 June
Friday 3 June
Thursday 9 June
Saturday 11 June
Wednesday 15 June
Thursday 23 June
Saturday 25 June
July 2022
Sunday 3 July
Start time: 
6.35pm