Performances
25, 27, 30 June 2020
3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 14, 17 July 2020

To celebrate the 250th anniversary of Beethoven's birth, esteemed director John Cox revives his acclaimed production of the composer's only opera, Fidelio: a blazing musical protest against oppression and tyranny. Leonore is determined to rescue her wrongfully imprisoned husband, Forestan, in a courageous display of humanity triumphing over injustice. Toby Spence (Idomeneo, 2016) returns as Florestan and Gérard Korsten makes his Garsington conducting debut. 

Sung in German with English supertitles.

June
Thursday 25 June
Saturday 27 June
Tuesday 30 June
July
Friday 3 July
Sunday 5 July
Tuesday 7 July
Thursday 9 July
Saturday 11 July
Tuesday 14 July
Friday 17 July