Performances
31 May 2018
2, 8, 14, 17, 22, 30 June 2018
11, 17, 19, 21 July 2018 
Start time 6pm 

Pre-performance Talk - Monday 18 June, 5pm

Mozart’s much-loved final opera, The Magic Flute, celebrates the triumph of love and reason over chaos and evil. Prince Tamino and the bird-catcher Papageno set out on a perilous quest to rescue Pamina from the evil Sarastro. But is everything as it seems? As they enter Sarastro's world they must overcome a series of trials to be reunited with their true loves. 

Premiered in 1791, just two months before Mozart's death, this sublime masterpiece combines heart-warming arias, dazzling coloratura and lyrical folksong in an enchanting tale that is both comic and profound. 

Cardiff Singer of the World prizewinner Louise Alder (Ilia, Idomeneo, 2016) and Jonathan McGovern (Pelléas, Pelléas et Mélisande, 2017) sing Pamina and Papageno and leading British tenor Benjamin Hulett makes his Garsington debut as Tamino. We are delighted to welcome Netia Jones (director and designer) and Christian Curnyn (conductor) who make their Garsington debuts. 

Sung in German with English supertitles

Pamina
Louise Alder
Tamino
Benjamin Hulett
Papageno
Jonathan McGovern
Sarastro
James Creswell
Queen of the Night
Íride Martínez
First Lady
Katherine Crompton
Second Lady
Marta Fontanals-Simmons
Third Lady
Katie Stevenson
Monostatos
Adrian Thompson
Conductor
Christian Curnyn
Director / Designer
Netia Jones
Lighting Designer
Mark Jonathan
Garsington Opera Orchestra & Chorus
May 2018
Thursday 31 May
June 2018
Saturday 2 June
Friday 8 June
Thursday 14 June
Sunday 17 June
Friday 22 June
Saturday 30 June
July 2018
Wednesday 11 July
Tuesday 17 July
Thursday 19 July
Saturday 21 July